Datuk K. Yogeesvaran

Former Deputy Director-General (Macro), Economic Planning Unit, Prime Minister’s Department


DATUK K. YOGEESVARAN served in the Malaysian Administrative and Diplomatic Service for 36 years till May 2018. He was posted to the Economic Planning Unit, Prime Minister’s Department for 27 years where he held several senior management positions including as Deputy Director General. His portfolio related to macroeconomic management; sector policy and strategy planning: and, medium- and long-term national development policy formulation. He was involved in the formulation of several Malaysia 5-year development plans and was a member of National Economic Action Council Secretariat. He also led United Nations negotiations on Financing for Development and SDGs on behalf of the Government of Malaysia. He was subsequently appointed as the Secretary General of the Ministry of Plantation and Commodities where he retired. Upon retirement he was Adviser to Smart Trends International, a firm involved in human resource management. He also served as a short-term consultant for several projects for the World Bank and United Nations. Datuk K.Yogeesvaran is currently a Partner in a legal firm.

He has a Masters in Economics from the Manchester University, UK; Post-graduate Diploma in Economics also from Manchester University, UK, and a Bachelor in Arts (Economics) degree from University Malaya. He obtained the LLB degree from the University of London and has a Certificate of Legal Practice Malaysia. He also possesses a Diploma in Public Administration from the National Institute of Public Administration.

Datuk K.Yogeesvaran has also served on several boards. He was Chairman of the Malaysian Timber Certification Council from 2018 to April 2020. He was a board member of the Perak State Economic Development Corporation, 2010-2017; Syarikat Bekalan Air Selangor Sdn Bhd (Syabas), 2013-2016; Iskandar Regional Development Authority Advisory Committee, 2015-2017; Malaysia Timber Industry Board, 2017- May 2018, Lembaga Kenaf Negara, 2017-May 2018 and MARDEC, 2017-May 2018.