Prof. Emeritus Dato’ Dr. Noraini binti Idris

President and Founder, National STEM Association


PROFESSOR DATO’ DR. NORAINI IDRIS is currently President and Founder, National STEM Association, President IMT-GT Uninet STEM, Founder of Asia Pacific STEM Roundtable 2018, Professor Adjunct at University Malaysia Trengganu and Advisor to University Malaya STEM Centre. She gained her PhD from The Ohio State University, USA and has been entrusted with the position of the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research & Innovation) at Sultan Idris Education University as well as Dean Faculty of Education at University of Malaya. She published a variety of national and international academics publications to her credit and is a Fulbright Research Fellow, USA. Subsequently, she presented papers both nationally and internationally and conducted several researches with UNESCO, the British Council, Australian Universities and the Sumitomo, Japan. Among her distinctions are the Distinguished Diversity Enhancement Awards- the only Asian recipient for the project on Minority Young Scholars Project and the Graduate Research Alumni Student Award from Ohio State University, a Gold Medal for ITEX (Geneva, 2005) and Best Award and Gold Medal at MTE 2007 till 2018 such as designing assessment system, Educational Module, Gold Medal at ITEX 2011, 2013, 2014, 2017. 2018 for designing Teacher Education Model and Innovation in STEM. She is a STEM champion. In 2018, Dato Noraini was awarded Japan Intellectual Property Association (JIPA) for the Distinguished STEM Leadership and Visionary Leadership Category from the International Education Award 2018 and Outstanding and Excellent Leadership in STEM, from Republic of Croatia 2019. This award is for her leadership and contribution toward the promotion of STEM Education initiatives to all strata of the society in Malaysia. She believes that STEM subjects are of vital importance to the future of industry. In 2020 she had been awarded International Recognition Award for her leadership in cultivating STEM Enterpreneurs.